Skip to content

Montana Yarn Stores

February 19, 2011

It’s an official tradition in my extended family – every February, all us “girlies” (my mom, 3 sisters and aunt) all head for a week of rest and relaxation to Montana.  Reading, relaxing, napping, hiking, knitting, swimming, movies and a little bit of shopping makes for an amazing get-away for all of us.

B and me out for a walk!

 

Every year I stop by the Camas Creek Yarn Store. An absolutely beautiful yarn store in Kalispell.  Large window’s frame the front entrance of this heritage looking building, and beautiful wood shelves are filled with lots and lots of scrumptious yarn! The store has a great room in the back with chairs and couches and some of the loveliest folks knitting away!  I always love visiting other yarn stores in other cities – it always inspires new things in me!

Camas Creek Store-fron

As is my habit, I always try and pick up something local whenever I shop, and I picked up a beautiful skein of  “Mountain Goat” from local yarnies Mountain Colors. Located in the Bitterroot Valley of Montana, they have been making beautiful yarn for 15 years! The Mountain Goat is a 55% Mohair and 45% wool blend that I think I will give to Caitlin!  I know that in her hands it will get knit up faster than keeping it for myself. Speaking of which, while I had all the amazing women in my family paying attention to my little guy I was actually able to do some knitting for myself.  I was able to get through quite a bit of my Twenty-Ten Cardigan and I also cast on the Vrroom Sweater!  We will be back in the store on Tuesday – see ya then!

 

Handpaited yarn from Mountain Colors

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

