Skip to content

Fall Knitting *sigh*

September 12, 2011

Well, even though this ‘Jeptember’ weather is making me think of bike-rides and the beach, I have actually started my fall knitting projects. I figure with my slow knitting-rate these days I should actually be able to finish something by the time the weather makes me want to reach for my fingerless gloves and leg-warmers! So this is what’s on my needles….

Whittier Hat from Knitscene Fall 2011

I fell in love with the Whittier Hat from the Fall 2011 Knitscene Magazine. I’ve casted on with a new shade of the Diamond Luxury Lima. A fantastic chunky weight 100% wool from Peru – you may remember a blog post about the same wool from last fall. I’m knitting mine up in the new off-white colour – and then I’ll head down to Button Button for my favorite part of any project – picking out coordinating buttons!

20110912-045648.jpg

Ziggy Zag Sweater in progress

I’m also finishing the sleeves of the Ziggy Zag sweater by Carol Feller. I love the look and drape of sock-yarn sweaters, and I think this will look adorable on Bohdan as he runs (yes that’s right now he runs) all over the park! I’m actually knitting this sweater with some yarn I bought at So Much Yarn in Seattle when we were on vacation this summer. I’m making it with Plymouth Yarn Happy Feet and the Diamond Luxury Foot Loose which we just got some fantastic new colors in stock! I will add pictures of the finished sweater hopefully soon!

FREE GIVE AWAY

What are you working on for Fall 2011? Last year we had a give-away contest and here were the finalists. This year we will be choosing 1 winner. We have a grab bag of yarn for the fall project we like best. So send us an email info@baaadannas.com and tell us what you are working on for this fall and why! The deadline for the contest if October 5th – we can’t wait to see what yo

u are working on!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Ali R. permalink
    October 5, 2011 7:38 pm

    Is it too late to post??

    What aren’t I knitting these days… the start-itis is bad! A couple of hats, a few pairs of mitts, some kid socks (how can you turn down a kid who asks for socks?), baby sweaters (Puerperium Cardigan x 2), teachers’ Christmas presents, a scarf for myself, and so on and so on and so on… No wonder my house is a mess and the kids are out of control — Mommy is KNITTING!!

  2. Carolyn permalink
    October 3, 2011 4:02 pm

    The fall knitting I *want* to be focusing on is my Eileen Cardigan:
    http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEdf10/PATTeileen.php
    The first sweater I’ve ever knit for myself! I’m using some gorgeous Fiddlesticks Luscious Tweed in Garnet, and now that the cool weather has set in I’m really starting to wish I had this cozy thing to wear! Unfortunately, I’m only ~half way through the back and have had to shift focus to other projects due to the laughably ambitious knitting queue I’ve amassed for the holidays. At this rate I’ll be lucky to have this sweater done by spring :(.

  3. Vanessa permalink
    September 20, 2011 12:59 am

    Do we need to submit a photo? My favourite fall project is at home right now and I’m away for work! Oh no!

    • baaadannas permalink
      September 20, 2011 3:23 am

      If you get a chance to send a photo that’s great, but its not required!

  4. September 13, 2011 5:41 pm

    Oh shoot, meant to include Raverly link for the hat pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/aviatrix-baby-hat

  5. September 13, 2011 5:41 pm

    Right now I’m working on four Aviatrix Hats for babies. Two for newborn twins, one for a little fella who joined us at the beginning of summer (not good wool hat weather), and one for someone who will be arriving later this Fall. It’s a great, easy and rewarding pattern. I was gifted one when my little’un was small and it was our favourite hat for staying on and growing with her due to the stretch in the pattern.

    I’m using the Diamond DK from Baaad Anna’s to knit’em up.

    I’m also (foolishly?) making my holiday crafting aspiration list, which seems to include a lot of infinity scarves for folks. I need to get through these hats and onto those if I’m going to keep this momentum going.

  6. September 12, 2011 10:31 pm

    Wow! I LOVE this project! I’m a hooker who barely knits but this lovely piece has got my mind spinning in a good way.
    So lovely. Thanks for sharing.
    Helen
    ps – off white. niiiiice.

Trackbacks

  1. The WINNERS are…… « Baaad Anna's: not your mama's yarn store
  2. Fall Project PEOPLE’S CHOICE « Baaad Anna's: not your mama's yarn store

Leave a Reply

